weekly roundup new songs

Weekly Roundup – New releases from Courtney Barnett, Anderson .Paak, Sutej Singh, Manan and more

Australian singer-songwriter Courtney Barnett has released her new album, Tell Me How How You Really Feel and it is the highlight of the week. This week also sees new singles from Anderson .Paak, Nine Inch Nails, Disclosure, Chromatics and Death Grips.


Courtney Barnett – Tell Me How You Really Feel

Tell Me How You Really Feel is the third studio release from Australian singer-songwriter Courtney Barnett. This is her first solo release since 2016’s Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit, and the follow-up to her collaboration with Kurt Vile. Lotta Sea Lice.

Parquet Courts – Wide Awake!

New York garage rock band Parquet Courts has released its sixth studio album Wide Awake! This is the follow up to the band’s 2016 studio album Human Performance.

James Bay – Electric Light

English singer-songwriter James Bay has released his second album, Electric Light. This is the follow-up to his 2015 debut effort Chaos And The Calm. He has been nominated for three Grammy award nominations in 2016 for the Best New Artist, Best Rock Album for Chaos And The Calm and Best Rock Song for ‘Hold Back The River’.

Sutej Singh – The Emerging

Solan-based songwriter and guitarist Sutej Singh has released his debut album The Emerging. This eight-track album is composed of entirely instrumental tracks. The album has seen the release of a single ‘Oceans Apart’ earlier in support of the album.

Manan – Mix Mood

Mumbai-based singer-songwriter Manan has released his debut album, named Mix Mood. The 16 track album is available via various physical and digital medium. The LP has been recorded, mixed and mastered in his home studio and includes eight instrumental tracks.


Anderson .Paak – Bubblin’

American singer-songwriter and rapper Anderson .Paak has released another single named ‘Bubblin’. It follows earlier released single ‘Til It’s Over’ and will most probably be a part of one of two albums.Paak is scheduled to release. It sounds so wonderfully bizarre, almost a perfect fit to a Tarantino film, with Paak’s vocals oozing pure, unbridled energy.

Nine Inch Nails – God Break Down The Door

American industrial band Nine Inch Nails have released a new single called ‘God Break Down The Door’. This is the first single from their upcoming album Bad Witch, out June 22nd. This will the first studio release for the band, fronted by Trent Reznor, since 2013’s Hesitation Marks. The track is dense, claustrophobic and swirling and takes pointers from David Bowie’s Blackstar and LCD Soundsystem in terms of its hypnotic drum patterns.

Disclosure – Ultimatum

The British electronic duo Disclosure is back with a single named ‘Ultimatum’. The duo, comprising brothers Guy and Howard Lawrence has released its first single since announcing a hiatus in early 2017. The song consists of samples of Malian singer Fatoumata Diawara and interweaves through the sample, with neo-soul and African tribal elements injected into the tracks.

Chromatics – Black Walls

It has been an exasperating last few years for Chromatics fans. The electronic duo had announced their seventh studio album Dear Tommy in 2014. Since then the album has been continuously delayed with a few songs released as a stop gap. There were rumours of the band even destroying all copies in 2015. Now they are back with another single ‘Black Walls’ and hopes for Dear Tommy being released are again renewed. Clocking at nearly 5 minutes, the track is a glittering neon gem.

Death Grips – Black Paint

American experimental hip-hop trio Death Grips have released a new single named ‘Black Paint’. It is off its upcoming album Year Of The Snitch, which includes Tool’s Justin Chancellor and Shrek director Andrew Adamson and follows previously released single ‘Streaky’. Black Paint’ sees Death Grips return to the experimental side, with wailing guitars and demonic warped-up vocals.