weekly roundup new songs

Weekly roundup – two new singles by Janelle Monae and more

This week brings releases from upcoming and exciting artists, a surprise low-key new studio release from one of the foremost ambient producers of this day and age, and a much awaited comeback release from one of the most forward-thinking pop artist of this decade.

New Albums:

Kero Kero Bonito – TOTEP EP

The London based group has attracted much attention from music publications following their debut album, Bonito Generation. Their style of music has been described as a mix of bubblegum j-pop, retro styled video game music and dancehall. Their third EP, TOTEP deviates from their standard sound a bit, with more rock influences throughout their EP, as heard from the single  ‘Only Acting’.

Public Access TV – Street Safari

The newest-formed band on this list, they attained critical acclaim from NME, Rolling Stone, The Guardian amongst other for the debut album Never Enough. With an irresistible blend of post-punk, indie and new wave, they have come out with their second studio album, Street Safari. Not one to miss.

Screaming Females – All At Once

All at Once is the seventh album from New Jersey trio Screaming Females. Fronted by Marissa Paternoster, on guitar and vocals, it follows 2015’s Rose Mountain. The band collaborated with producer Matt Bayles (Alice In Chains, Pearl Jam)  on the record. This is one for the Sleater Kinney fans.

Against All Logic – 2012-2017

Nicholas Jaar, one of the eminent contemporary ambient producers in the world, has quietly released an album, under the little known alias, Against All Logic. The release, which had flown under the radar of many people, is built mostly from soul and funk samples. There were three A.A.L singles that led up to this full-length, and a mix of original material, including some of the tracks on 2012 – 2017.

New Songs:

Janelle Monae – ‘Make Me Feel’

After a five year gap, Janelle Monae makes a comeback with a couple of singles along with the announcement of her next album, Dirty Computer. ‘Make Me Feel’, stylistically serves up as an homage to pop legend, collaborator and friend, Prince, with funky guitar licks and sensual vocals.

Janelle Monae – ‘Django Jane’

The second of her two singles released this week, this takes inspiration from Erykah Badu, tapping into a hip-hop vein and seriously going hard with the rap bars. The singer chooses a heavy-hitting track, as the punching bass kicks drive the instrumental. Whether the album will serves as an continuation to the Metropolis Saga from her previous albums, or will serve as an standalone, is still uncertain.

Twin Shadows – ‘Saturday’ (feat. HAIM)

With both collaborators influenced by the late 70’s/early 80’s music, it comes as little surprise that Twin Shadow and HAIM fit in as well as a glove in hand. This marks their third collaboration, previously on HAIM’s Days Are Gone bonus track ‘Edge’ and the Something to Tell You cut ‘Ready For You’. It’s a sunny mid-tempo number with both the collaborators wearing their influences on their skin. This is the first single off Twin Shadow’s upcoming fourth album, Caer.